Homepage / Blues / Shaun Murphy – CD Review & Right Place, Wrong Time, or What Is It Gonna Take
Baker’s Dozen of Blues: Week of October 30, 2017 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: Week of October 23, 2017 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: Week of October 16, 2017 Bakers Dozen of Blues: Weeks of October 2 & 9, 2017 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: September 25, 2017 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: September 18, 2017 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: September 11, 2017 Trippin’ With H-Bomb or Herrera’s One Day Adventure A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: August 7, 2017 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: Week of July 31, 2017 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: Week of July 24, 2017 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: July 17, 2017 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: July 10, 2017 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: July 4th Edition A Bakers Dozen of Blues: May 1, 2017 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: April 10, 2017 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: April 3, 2017 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: March 27, 2017 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: February 27, 2017 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: January 16 & 23, 2017 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: January 9, 2016 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: January 2, 2017 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: December 26, 2016 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: December 19, 2016 2016 Blues411 ‘Jimi Awards’ Baker’s Dozen of Blues: December 12, 2016 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: December 5, 2016 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: November 21, 2016 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: November 14, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: November 7, 2016 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: Halloween – October 31, 2016 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: October 24, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: October 10, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: October 3, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen OF Blues: September 26, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: September 19, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: September 12, 2016 Pennsylvania Blues Festival: 25th Aniversary A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: September 5, 2016 The Time of The Season A Baker’s Dozen Of Blues: August 29, 2016 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: August 22, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: August 15, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: August 8, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: August 1, 2016 Shaun Murphy – CD Review & Right Place, Wrong Time, or What Is It Gonna Take A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: July 25, 2016 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: July 18, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: July 11, 2016 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: July 4, 2016 Tribute to America Baker’s Dozen of Blues: June 27, 2016 Baker’s Dozen Of Blues: June 20, 2016 Bakers Dozen of Blues: June 6, 2016 Baker’s Dozen Of Blues: May 30, 2016 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: May 23, 2016 Baker’s Dozen of Blues: May 16, 2016 2016 Blues Music Awards Winner List Baker’s Dozen of Blues: May 2, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: April 25, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: April 18, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: April 11, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: April 4, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: March 28, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: March 21, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: March 14, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: March 7, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: February 29, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: February 22, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: February 15, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: February 8, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: February 1, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: January 25, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: January 18, 2016 & Blues411 Radio A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: January 11, 2016 Photo Gallery: Blues411’s Best Photos of 2015 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: January 4, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: December 14, 2015 A Baker’s Dozen: December 7, 2015 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: November 30, 2015 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: November 23, 2015 2015Blues411 Jimi Awards A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: November 16, 2015 TBT: Back on the Legendary Rhythm & Blues Cruise A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: November 9, 2015 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: November 2, 2015 Photo Gallery: 2015 European Blues Cruise A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: October 19 & 26, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: October 12, 2015 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: October 5, 2016 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: September 28, 2015 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: September 21, 2015 On the Anniversary of Blues411 Becoming a Reality… A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: September 14, 2015 Interview: Vinny Marini Sits On Our Couch A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: August 24, 2015 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: August 17, 2015 Photo Gallery: Riverfront Blues Festival, July 2015 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: August 10, 2015 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: August 3, 2015 A Baker’s Dozen of Blues: July 27, 2015

Blues, Blues411, Blues411 Radio, CD Reviews, Entertainment, Internet Radio, Music, Office Music, Opinion, Rock & Roll, Wednesday's One

Shaun Murphy – CD Review & Right Place, Wrong Time, or What Is It Gonna Take

I gotta say, I have this question that keeps popping up. It’s about the blues, and the acceptance of singers into the fold, OK, maybe female singers might be a better way to put it.

IMG_1561Seems like whenever a young female ‘blues’ singer comes on the scene she is accepted, promoted, glorified and spread far and wide by the community, yet when we get pros who can sing in multiple keys, get low down or hit notes that only dogs hear, there sees to be a ‘meh’ reaction to their talents and they get put on the discount rack.

Yeah I am talking in this case about Shaun Murphy. If I need to go into her background I will simply state she has sung with Eric Clapton, Bob Seger and many more over her years. She has torn up The Hard Rock Cafe in Memphis two years straight as a guest singer to standing ovations. Just recently in Nashville, in front of some of that city’s finest crowds and judges of talent she got multiple standing ovations throughout her two numbers.
Let it be known that she first appeared at the Ann Arbor Blues Fest along with Son House, Muddy Waters, B.B. & Freddy King, so there are deep roots in this woman’s blues street cred.

What is it that people don’t get?
Why does there seem to be a lack of real support for her at festival booking time?

Does she need to wear revealing skirts?

I will now change gears and give a very rare CD review of her latest release, ‘It Won’t Stop Raining’ maybe it will open some eyes and ears.

It opens with a rollickin’, groaning track called ‘Spreadin’ The News’. It hits hard with a feel of good ol’ rock & roll with a swing to it that makes ya wanna dance. It’s a revelation type song of how she is spreadin’ the news of the blues which, should be foremost on everyone’s mind.

You want straight dirty blues, well she gives that to ya in spades. ‘Your Husband Is Cheating On Us’ a Denise LaSalle song who’s title just about ‘splains things in a straight forward manner. Ms. Murphy has an edge to her voice that makes you pay attention and works it’s way around the song as she growls and then smooth’s it out as a testament to the natcheral fact the he’s a no good cheatin’ man. With the exception of Ms. LaSalle there ain’t no one else I would rather hear ‘sang’ this. Maybe that’s the problem Ms. Murphy can ‘sang’ and not just sing, if you need to look up or ask about the difference then, well never mind. This could explain some of the questions I posed above.

The title track comes off smoothly and effortlessly via her well trained pipes. A ballad of sorts, that combines an actual bridge (whoa songwriting lesson 1) with thoughtful lyrics that Ms. Murphy delivers straight from the heart and soul.

A few well thought out covers are included besides Ms. LaSalle’s song. Two E.G. Kight songs that Ms. Murphy handles with a professional and soulful approach. One I must mention is the Otis Redding styled treatment of ‘That’s How A Woman Loves’.

Her penultimate track, ‘I Hate The Blues (But The Blues Sure Seems Loves Me)’ brings to mind certain Bobby Bland arrangements, who’s songs she has covered in previous releases. There is a growl that she has that sets one’s little hairs on edge, but she knows when to pull back and change speeds, after all one speed or level of delivery gets pretty boring whether or not it’s guitar, vocal or harp playing. To me this track shows off her abilities so well that it should be a staple of her live performances. Oh if you haven’t seen her perform you need to.

IMG_1563Through out this release she proves that her qualities as a vocalist are unparalleled as she expertly delivers each style and song like a hungry chicken on corn. The depth of her abilities and talent are right here for the enjoying and I hope you will listen and maybe spread the good word around.

So back to part one of this combo platter, what is it that is missing?
I cannot identify anything lacking. She can ‘sang’, has stage presence, a professional vocalist who has an amazing range and has performed on stage with some of the biggest names around in the blues and popular music.

Is that it? The popular music connection?
Yes she sings with Bob Seger, was asked to be the lead vocalist for Little Feat, been the preferred vocalist to back up and sing with Eric Clapton on such songs as
‘Forever Man’, ‘She’s Waiting’, etc.
If so then, that’s not a fair judgment on her.
While we accept aging rockers into the genre, why are we not embracing a lady who is such a natural fit with us.

I am serious about this y’all, I can’t figure it out. Maybe it’s the trend to bring young people into the blues, or maybe it’s something else I can’t put a finger on?

Anyway you can find Shaun Murphy at http://www.shaunmurphyband.com/ and check out where and when she will be playing, well worth it.

Love, Peace & Chicken Grease
©Blues411.com 2016
Where Blues Thrives
Photos: Leslie K. Joseph, Blues411

BLUES411 NOTE:
Our friend Carolyn Fe’ has replied to this post but we could not get her through the wall of protection on the site. It is on Facebook but we will post it below so that it gets seen. Thank you Carolyn for the reply.

What a great read and even better point about the challenges of the ‘mature’ female artists. IMHO, the industry is so focused on youth (ie, 35 yrs. and under) that talent beyond those years are not even considered. Here in Quebec (Canada) we have government sponsored arts grants and subsidies for what we call “La Relève” (Succession, Up and Coming) and only artists under the age of 35 are allowed to submit their applications. I recently challenged a selection committee wherein I asked why artistic succession has to come from youth only. There are artists who, for one reason or another; career change/family/life/luck, come to their stage as mature artists and/or late bloomers and are proving themselves to be top notch in their field, producing quality material and gaining a fan base. I pointed out that the % of our tax money that is distributed to the arts should not be discriminatory. I can tell you that there was silence in the room and after a few coughs and throat clearings, the chairman of the meeting acquiesced in a low mumbled voice.

…and then there are those who have paid their dues and built their credibility; those who are already making a living off their talents, have gained a fan base but for some unknown reason are pushed to the sides and ignored by the festivals for whatever reason. What is it with ageism especially when it comes to female performers?! This also crosses over to acting (I noticed that Shaun does some acting as well). Bringing young people to the Blues is important to continue the legacy but one must not forget that Blues has roots that dig deep, deep down and in my very humble opinion, only a life well lived can voice the Blues.

http://www.carolyn-fe.com

One Comment

  1. Cleve Baker October 30, 2017 11:25 pm

    Hey Chef Jimi,

    Though I’m really late to the table on a comment to this article, It is spot on about Shaun Murphy and others in that same boat. “It Won’t Stop Raining” was yet another excellent release and example of Shaun’s range and talents. Her Brand New Album “Mighty Gates” is poised to set the Blues Charts a Blaze .. Without Question, Shaun Murphy is one of the Finest Blues Talents on the Planet … There is NOT a Blues playbill ANYWHERE that would not be better with her talents included … Cleve Baker – Confessing the Blues Radio

Leave a Reply